The 2016 Kentucky REALTORS® Distinguished Service Award was presented to Jeff Smith, a broker with Star One REALTORS® in Fort Mitchell and member of the Northern Kentucky Association of REALTORS® (NKAR). This award is given to someone who has provided outstanding contributions and service to the real estate industry and his/her local community. Smith, who has been licensed for more than 40 years, was president of Kentucky REALTORS® in 2009, served on the board of directors and was named REALTOR® of the Year in 2010. Through his involvement at the state level over the last 26 years, he has served on numerous committees, work groups and task forces including personnel, legal affairs, governmental affairs, bylaws, economic and local issues and the legislative team. He has also served as a Trustee for the Kentucky Real Estate Education Foundation (KREEF) and as a member of the Kentucky Real Estate Commission Selection Committee. Nationally, he continues to serve on the board of directors for the National Association of REALTORS® and sits on the Broker Involvement committee and the Membership Policy and Board Jurisdiction committee, where he served as the chair in 2013. On the local level, Smith served as director, treasurer and president-elect of the Kenton Boone Board before becoming the first president of the Northern Kentucky Association of REALTORS® in 1995. He served as president of the Northern Kentucky Multiple Listing Service in 1993 and was named REALTOR® of the Year for the Kenton Boone Board that same year. He received the Robert J. Enos Dedicated Service award in 2009 and continues to be active not only in his local association, but also volunteering much of his time to work in leadership positions at both the state and national levels.

Past DSA Winners

  • 2015 - Ken Warden, Fort Thomas
  • 2014 - Carolyn Edwards, Lexington
  • 2013 - Linda Moore, Lexington
  • 2012 - Jayne Cox, Lexington
  • 2011 - John Chandler, London
  • 2010 - John Davis, Paducah
  • 2009 - Evelyn Pusateri, Louisville
  • 2008 - David P. Schoepf, Ft. Thomas
  • 2007 - Joe Guy Hagan, Louisville
  • 2006 - Charlie Murphy, Lexington
  • 2005 - William P. Snyder, Louisville